BBQ pineapple chicken

We have about a once a week meat habit in our house. Maybe less. We happened to be at the grocery store last week and there was a big sale on chicken breasts, so we bought some. I used some to make a chicken taco soup and this very delicious BBQ pineapple chicken.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound thinly sliced chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup bbq sauce
  • 1-2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 8oz can pineapple slices/rings
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup water
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of red pepper flakes(optional)
  • dash of pepper
  • juice of 1/2 of a juicy lime
  • water

Start by mixing the bbq sauce with a little water to thin it out. Think marinade, not sauce. Add garlic, cilantro, red pepper flakes, lime juice, salt and pepper to the mix. You can also get a little wild and crazy a tablespoon or two of the juice from the pineapple rings to that, too. I did and it was a gooood idea.

Add the chicken to the marinade and let marinate for 1-8 hours. I started it in the morning and made this for supper so mine marinated close to 8 hours. What can I say? I like flavor.

When you are ready to cook the chicken, heat a skillet over medium heat. When it’s nice and mediumly hot, take two rings of pineapple and place in skillet and cook until nice and browned on each side. Set aside.

Now it’s time for the chicken Dump in the chicken and the marinade. Stir occasionally to make sure all pieces of chicken are cooked through. Cook about 7 minutes.

I made Brian’s into a sandwich on some nice, big bread and mine into a wrap, but topped similarly.

I used a brown rice wrap with lettuce, tomato, a pineapple ring and a little more bbq sauce. Wedge of lime on the side. Hot, saucy and delicious.

It pairs nicely with a margarita. Just to be on the safe side, I had one while I was cooking, too. What? I had some extra lime. What else was I supposed to do with it?

One response

Tell me what you think

