Oats in a jar

I haven’t eaten oatmeal in a while. The detox at the beginning of the year kind of got me off of that kick…and gluten free oats are pricey.

I have seen that other people have used their empty nut butter jars to mix their oats in. I gave it a try and loved it. It makes the jar so much easier to clean so it can be reused, too! Too bad I can’t eat through an entire jar of nut butter so I can do this everyday. That wouldn’t be excessive, would it?

Ingredients:

  • 1 empty, but unwashed nut butter jar with nut butter remnants
  • 1/2 cup gluten free oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup almond/coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon chia seeds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground flax
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • nuts and dried fruit(optional)

Stir and refrigerate over night. Enjoy in the morning.

The little bit of almond butter that made it’s way into my oatmeal and that I got to scrape off of the sides was delightful. Sorry about the picture. It was so delicious it was almost gone before I realized I should have snapped a shot of it.

One response

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning 101 |

Tell me what you think

