Unplugged

Sorry for the silence, but I’ve been unplugged.

Last Sunday I flew to Iowa for a few days of rest and relaxation at my parents house. I don’t know if they would have said that it was restful and relaxing for them, but it was for me! While there, my parents signed up to a 5k early this fall with me. My mom said she needed to start training, so we instituted 2-3 work outs a day while I was there. Don’t think I’m a slave driver, because I’m not. In the morning we would go to the track and walk/jog and in the afternoon or evening or both, we would go for a long walk. My mom showed great improvement in her running in just the four days. Way to go mom.

What always happens when I am home? Lots of good eating. We started off the first night by making pizzas on the grill. One of my favorite things to do.

Accompanied by a nice cold one:

On Monday, we made a trip to Iowa City to go Father’s Day shopping. Of course we ate at Pancheros:

It was magnificent.

Then I introduced my dad to the glory of The Den. Where we each got a new Iowa shirt, he got a soda and I got tea. Total for 2 shirts and two drinks=$14.98. Only in a college town.

One of my favorite things to do in the morning was to sit on the front porch and drink my coffee with my mom:

And if I wanted to, read the paper. Yes, the paper. Made of real newspaper, delivered to your house daily. That doesn’t happen everywhere anymore.

And I could do that by this bush. A bush with a nest in it with an egg.

We also ate a lot of salad:

And my mom sewed some skirts and dresses for me. It pays to have a talented mother.

I celebrated my return to Chicago by picking up my half marathon packet, eating lunch on a patio with my new tomato plant as our center piece:

Then we went to my favorite gelato place and got a trio of chocolate jalapeno, banana coconut and mint cookies and cream. So tasty.

I hope everyone’s summer is going as well as mine. Back to recipes this week!

Tell me what you think

