Homemade almond milk adventure

My big plan was to make homemade almond milk tonight. Except I forgot to start soaking the almonds before I left for work.

Fortunately, I work right next to a grocery store, so I stopped and picked up some almonds on my way in to work. I also had an old, but clean almond butter jar hanging out on my desk, just perfect for soaking the almonds.

I ran across a claim on a food blog that you only need to use 10 almonds to make an entire pitcher of homemade almond milk. While I felt this was a small amount of almonds, I wanted to try it. I scaled back the amount of water a bit and only used 16oz of water, because that is all my jar would hold…and I have to get it home on the bus. I also thought that if it doesn’t turn out well, it’s very little waste.

So, I’ll update you tonight on how the 10 almond, almond milk adventure goes.

Tell me what you think

