Homemade almond milk

I have cut way back and have almost completely eliminated dairy from my diet for over 6 months now. I always struggle to justify paying the high prices for soy, coconut or almond milk at the store and will often just go without. I also don’t like all the additives found in it. I have seen a lot of people all over the web making their own almond milk. Not immediately realizing that I could dry out the left over almond bits into almond meal, I thought it was a waste of almonds.

Then I saw a claim that you can make an entire pitcher of almond milk using only 10 almonds. I have no idea where I saw this, but it stuck in my mind. I have tried to Google it since and can not find the blog. So, I decided to make a modified version.

Ingredients:

  • 10 almonds
  • 2 cups of water
  • pure vanilla(optional)

Soak almonds in 2 cups of water in a covered container for 8-12 hours.

At the end of the soaking time, put in high-powered blender and blend. Add in a few drops of vanilla is you would like. Some people also add honey to sweeten the milk, but I do not.

You will be left with bits of almond and skin(if you didn’t remove it before blending). Some people say leaving the skins on can cause it to taste bitter.

Pour almond milk through a strainer with an old, but clean dish towel(NOT terry cloth) into a receptacle.

Refrigerate and use within 4 days.

After a few sips, I decided that it tastes like a skim version of almond milk, which is fine with me. I really like it. If you want a thicker version, definitely add more almonds. [UPDATE]: After letting it refrigerate for a day, I have decided that it tastes like regular almond milk. And it only took 10 almonds? What a good deal!

Moving on. Heat a nonstick skillet on low. Scrape the leftover pieces of almond into skillet and heat until dried out.

Save and use as almond meal.

You have now made liquid and powdered gold for less than $1.00.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Four hundo |

  2. Pingback: Holiday weekend |

Tell me what you think

