Homemade banana, almond butter, honey ice cream

Healthy ice cream? Without the cream? Sign me up!

I saw this somewhere on the inter-webs and thought it had to be too good to be true, but was too intrigued not to try it.

Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe bananas, sliced and frozen
  • 3 tablespoons almond butter(or nut butter of choice)
  • 1 tablespoon honey(I’d use less next time)

Start by buying too many bananas, something I almost always do. When they become a little over ripe, slice them up and freeze the slices. I usually reserve these for smoothies, but not this time. I’m going to make ice cream with them.

I saved up 4 bananas worth of slices. Dump slices into a high powered blender or food processor and blend on high.

Scrape down sides as necessary and be patient. Keep blending.

After a little while, something magical will happen. The yellowish bananas turn more of a white color. This is when they are turning into a soft serve consistency. Sorry about the poor quality of the picture. It is just to show the color difference between the smoothly blended(white) and unblended banana(yellowish).

When they have turn all white-ish and smooth, like soft serve, you can dump it into a container. Look how good it looks:

Add a few scoops of almond butter and some honey.

Mix. I tried not to over-mix mine, as I like to get chunks of flavor.

Place back in freezer for a few hours to harden. A few hours later:

After it is sufficiently frozen, scoop out and serve. If you are feeling a little crazy like I was, I drizzled a little coconut butter on top of ours.

Do you know what coconut butter does when it gets cold? It hardens. So we had a flavorful crunchy shell on top of our ice cream that we got to crack through.

Next time: Because there will be a next time. I wouldn’t add any honey. I thought it was sweet enough on its own. I would probably just do bananas and some chocolate chips. Or add a little almond butter and chocolate

The fake ice cream was a huge hit with both Brian and I. It’s a pretty guiltless treat and perfect party trick for the lactose-free people in your life.

One response

  1. Pingback: Healthy chocolate cupcakes |

Tell me what you think

