Summer salad trio

When I went home for a few days at the beginning of the summer, it was my mission to get my parents off of their boring daily lunches. They usually eat a turkey sandwich and chips or fruit and vegetables for lunch. Every. day. So. Boring.

So while I was home I made giant salads for all of us to dig into at lunch time. Super easy, mostly healthy and super delicious.

Faux Cobb Salad:

Start with a big bed of lettuce of choice. I made it a little healthier by substituting sautéed mushrooms for the traditional bacon.Then I added chopped hard-boiled egg, the sautéed mushrooms, diced tomato, diced grilled chicken, avocado and bleu cheese. It was a big hit with my parents.

Another day, I did an Iowa version of the taco salad:

I started out with a big bowl of lettuce, added lean ground beef cooked in taco seasoning, fresh corn, black beans, diced tomato, shredded cheese, avocado, and red onion. Ready for the special Iowa ingredient? Black olives. No where outside of Iowa have I ever been served black olives on a taco salad. Then I added a few chips to the edge to give a little crunch, but much healthier than an entire tortilla shell.

The final salad was a bit more random. Very similar to the faux cobb salad but I also added sautéed asparagus and black olives and left off the chicken.

So there you have 3 easy salads to make when you don’t want to be firing up the oven on a hot summer day. It’s an easy way to get in a few servings of vegetables, too. These salads are so flavorful you don’t need much, if any, salad dressing. Keep it simple and light.

Tell me what you think

