Week highlights

It’s been a wacky week here at Spatoola. I woke up not feeling well on Monday and got worse as the day progressed. I ended up leaving work at noon and spent a solid 10 hours on the couch until I moved to my bed. Intermittently spooning chicken wonton soup in my mouth from a local noodle shop.

I woke up feeling slightly better on Tuesday and returned to work. Unfortunately I missed a group work night at the community garden. With the heat, rain and illness I didn’t make it up to my garden until last night.

In the past week, my zucchini plant has tripled in size. It now takes up the back third of my plot and has suffocated my pea plants. It is well out of the boundaries of my plot and is starting to climb the fence of the tennis court!

20120726-211642.jpg

My mystery plant that I bought unmarked on clearance has revealed itself to be a jalapeño pepper plant.

20120726-211813.jpg

And my multicolored pepper plant has some good starts. I wonder which color this one will turn?

20120726-211922.jpg

After work tonight I headed to the local farmers market. I had myself a very farmers market dinner. I love fresh, local food. So much more flavorful than produce at the grocery store. Oh, and some ripe tomatoes from my garden.

20120726-212120.jpg

And in other exciting news…Whole Foods now has $3 wine! Feeling the pressure from Trader Joe’s?

20120726-212242.jpg

Now onto one more day of work and a very exciting weekend. It’s the Big Ten 5k/10k which my parents are coming in town for. We will be representing in our Iowa dry fit shirts. On Iowa, Go Hawks!

Tell me what you think

