Capresedillanini

A what? It’s a cross between the caprese salad, a quesadilla and a panini. And it’s AWESOME!

Do you know what else is awesome? Going to a White Sox game with your coworkers:

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole wheat tortilla
  • fresh mozzarella
  • 1 home-grown tomato
  • fresh basil
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper

I essentially make a caprese salad down the center of a tortilla.

Just layer slices of tomato with slices of fresh mozzarella. Add basil and salt and pepper.

Then I folded the rest of the tortilla over it. I put it in a hot skillet with a little oil to make it hot and crispy and melty. I put a heavy plate on top of it in the pan to help press it down.

After a few minutes, I flipped it over(be careful, the plate will be hot) and put the plate back on top of it for a few more minutes.

Slice and eat. I had it with a side of berries.

It was the ultimate summer meal. The tomato was from my garden and the basil was out of my living room. Yum.

One response

Tell me what you think

