Peanut noodles with chicken

This entire post is already a lie. I didn’t make peanut noodles. I used natural almond butter instead of peanut butter. But almond nut butter noodles just doesn’t roll off the tongue the same way. And peanut noodles are a common dish and I think most people would raise an eyebrow to “almond noodles”.

Here is goes, anyway. I had been wanting peanut noodles for weeks. I didn’t want to order in because I knew they would be really greasy and unhealthy, but incredibly delicious. So, I set out to make a healthier version at home. A common theme with me.

Ingredients(makes 2 huge or 3 smaller servings):

  • 6 oz of brown rice noodles(or noodle of choice)
  • 1 small head of broccoli, cut into bite-size pieces and steamed
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • 8 oz of chicken, cooked and diced
  • 3 tablespoons natural almond butter
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons tamari or soy sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon sriracha
  • salt and pepper

Measure out your noodles. You know, if you are concerned about serving size at all.

Cook your noodles according to directions.

In a separate bowl, mix almond butter, water, tamari, garlic, ginger, sriracha and a little salt and pepper until smooth.

In a separate pan cook or heat chicken. When noodles are about 3 minutes from being done cooking, toss in steamed broccoli and spinach to wilt spinach.

Drain noodles and put in pan with chicken and veggies.

Pour sauce over the top and mix until combined.

Serve in bowls.

In the future, I will add more flavor(sriracha, garlic and ginger) to the sauce. We must like a lot of flavor because the original recipe I was going off of only called for the nut butter, water and soy sauce. That would have been super-duper bland. I really liked all the greens add in. Or maybe they just made me feel a little better about eating a meal of fat on carbs!

Tell me what you think

