Fried green tomatoes

I pulled all of the tomato plants out of my garden this past weekend. I brought home a lot of green and orange tomatoes and very few red ones. I will let them ripen on my counter but couldn’t resist trying my hand at fried green tomatoes with a few of them. And I have to say, they turned out to be a pretty tasty pre-dinner snack.

Ingredients:
2 large green heirloom tomatoes(or other variety)
1 egg
1/4 cup milk(I used almond)
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup corn meal
1/4 cup bread crumbs
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
oil for frying

Heat some oil in a pan. I didn’t use much oil as I didn’t want the slices to get too saturated. Most recipes recommend heating up a quart of oil. I probably heated up 1/4 cup in the bottom of a frying pan.

Combine dry ingredients in one bowl.

Combine egg and milk in another bowl. Set aside.

Slice the tomatoes in 1/8 inch slices.

20121011-083822.jpg

Once the oil is hot, dip a tomato slice in the egg and milk bowl, completely coating it. Then dip the wet tomato in the dry ingredients, making sure it’s completely coated. Carefully place tomato in hot oil. Continue with other slices of tomato, making sure not to crowd the pan.

20121011-084152.jpg
Once golden brown, carefully flip the tomato over to cook other side. Make sure not to splash hot grease. Once golden brown on both sides, remove from oil and and place on paper towels to drain. Blot to remove excess grease.

20121011-084343.jpg
Serve hot. Enjoy this tangy and almost meaty treat. Careful not to burn your tongue.

20121011-084441.jpg

Tell me what you think

