Pancakes for two: pumpkin pancakes

When it comes to breakfast items I almost always prefer savory to sweet. Lately, I had a taste for pancakes. Not just any pancakes, pumpkin pancakes. It started a few months ago when we went to a great brunch spot and I saw them on the menu. At that time it was still way too summery and hot to be into anything pumpkin. So I shelved them in the back of my brain and have been thinking about them every weekend since the temperatures have started to drop.

Last weekend, I really wanted to go and get those pumpkin pancakes with cream cheese drizzle and candied ginger. Then a funny thing happened. I thought about how good the first 2 bites would be then I wouldn’t want them any more because they would be too sweet. Just too much.

So I layed in bed and googled “pancakes for one” knowing I could double the recipe so Brian could have some, too. I also knew I would be converting the recipe from plain to pumpkin pancakes.

This recipe produces a very thick batter. I had to spread it out in the pan with a spatula, but it made some delicious, but unattractive pancakes. The recipe will make one very large pancake for each person or 4 medium sized pancakes

Ingredients:
2/3 cup all purpose flour
2 tablespoons dried oats(regular or quick cooking)
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie seasoning
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
Mix all ingredients well in a medium sized bowl.

20121011-082444.jpg
In a separate bowl, combine:
1/3 cup pure pumpkin
2 tablespoons oil of choice(olive, vegetable, or coconut)
1/2 cup coconut or almond milk
dash of vanilla

Heat a small frying pan with a teaspoon of coconut oil. While that is heating, combine the wet and dry ingredients. Make sure to not over mix.

Pour half of your batter into frying pan for one large pancake or 1/4 of batter for a smaller pancake. Spread out batter with the back of a spoon or spatula.

20121011-082608.jpg
Cook over medium until bubbles form and pop on the surface of the pancake. Then flip and cook until golden brown on the other side.

If it doesn’t flip perfectly, that’s ok. It’s still going to taste delicious. Top with some banana slices and pure maple syrup. Some chopped nuts would be nice, too.

20121011-082711.jpg

Tell me what you think

