Italian roasted tomatoes

After removing my tomato plants from my garden, I pulled all the green tomatoes and orange tomatoes off to ripen on my counter. After coming back from Arizona, most of them were ripe. Since I couldn’t eat an entire counter top of tomatoes at once, I decided to roast them.

20121021-173933.jpg

Ingredients:
tomatoes
thinly sliced cloves of garlic
thyme
basil
orgeano
salt and pepper
olive oil

Preheat the oven to 325F.

Slice the tomatoes in half. Toss the tomatoes with olive oil and garlic. I used 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil per pound of tomatoes. Sprinkle generously with herbs. Place all tomatoes so they are cut-side down.

20121021-173908.jpg

Bake for about two hours. The length of time will depend on the size of the tomato. Bake until the tomatoes are completely softened, wilted and started to wrinkle.

20121021-174255.jpg

20121021-174317.jpg
These are super tasty. They taste like pizza. I couldn’t stop eating them once they cooled. They would also be great tossed with pasta and basil.

Tell me what you think

