Baked autumn samosas

I am smitten with (never)home maker‘s blog. I’ve ben following for a few years and love the recipes they come up with. I was intrigued by the baked autumn samosas as soon as she posted them. Brian and I love Indian food. I made them almost immediately and didn’t regret it.

I almost halved (never)home makers recipe and then made a batch of more traditional filling of potato, cauliflower, onion and peas. While she made her own outer wrapper, I bought egg roll wrappers from the grocery store out of convenience and they worked great. She used bbq sauce as a dipping sauce and I used that as an idea for a “chutney” made of BBQ, orange marmalade, Sriracha, soy sauce and ginger.

My “chutney”:

I had 2 wrappers left over so I very finely diced some apple, tossed with sugar and apple pie seasonings and made us two dessert samosas. So easy and delicious.

The filling options with this technique are endless!

I’ll let you follow (never)home makers version of the tasty autumn samosa and just give the recipe for the more traditional. But since I took them, I’ll share pictures of my autumn fillings:

Ingredients:
1/3 head of cauliflower, cut into small pieces and steamed until fork tender
1-2 medium red potatoes, diced and parboiled
1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed
1/2 small onion, diced and sautéed
tumeric
madras curry powder
salt and pepper
ginger
garlic

Preheat oven to 375F.

Mix vegetables together and season with seasonings to taste.

Scoop about 1/4 cup filling into egg roll wrapper.

Lightly wet edges of wrapper so it will bind when you roll it.

Place on baking sheet. Repeat with rest of filling.

Once all of the samosas are rolled and placed on baking sheet, lightly brush them with olive oil.

Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve with a side of “chutney” or dipping sauce of choice. Be careful as the inside will be piping hot.

Tell me what you think

