Crockpot chicken curry

I love Indian food. I love curries. I love the way your house smells after you cook them.

What’s better than to come home to that smell and dinner made? Not much.

Adapted from this Pinterest recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into cubes
  • 5 large carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and quartered
  • 1 large bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 5oz tomato paste
  • 14oz can light coconut milk(use full fat if you want)
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon garam masala
  • 1 jalapeno(I used two and it was very spicy)
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons corn starch

Place carrots in bottom or slow cooker.

Place cubed chicken on top of that.

Put everything else except the water and corn starch into the food processor. Process/blend until mostly smooth.

Pour the sauce over the chicken and carrots.

Cook on low 6-8 hours. I left it in while I was at work, which was probably closer to 10 hours.

When I came home, the crock pot looked less than appetizing.

I was a little worried, but I gave it a stir and it looked much, much better.

It was also much darker in color and more red than I expected. I attribute this two things. I used a red bell pepper instead of green and I used light coconut milk and the absence of the extra coconut fat could attribute to the darker color. I would like to prematurely note that the flavor is wonderful.

An hour before serving, mix water and corn starch in small bowl. Stir until corn starch is dissolved. Then add to the crock pot and stir to combine. Leave on low for one more hour, then serve. The corn starch helps to thicken up the sauce.

Serve over rice, with naan and garnish with cilantro(optional) and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt.

This curry is awesome. It’s very thick, almost like a stew. We could have eaten it without the bed of rice. I ate leftovers on naan, almost like a sandwich for lunch. I also ate leftovers on a corn tortilla, topped with an egg for breakfast.

This curry is to good it can be eaten any meal of the day.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning 101 |

Tell me what you think

