Portabella mushroom pizza

The other day I was wanting pizza. I had also regained strength in avoiding gluten products. I’ve made a few attempts at the cauliflower crust pizza and didn’t want to buy a standard gluten-free crust at the store.

So I came up with what I thought was a brilliant idea. That was to use a portabella mushroom cap as the base for the pizza. A healthier alternative that the other two. And I love mushrooms on my pizza.

Start by scraping the gills out of the cap of a cleaned portabella. I also cut out the stem. They were a little woody.

pizza1

Then I chopped up some spinach and mixed it with pizza sauce and put it in the mushroom caps.

pizza5

I topped it with a little more sauce. I like sauce.

pizza4

For one of the mushrooms I topped with 2 pieces of pepperoni and some mozzarella cheese. The other one got some blue cheese then mozzarella.

pizza3

It would be very easy to make these vegan by omitting the pepperoni and using a vegan cheese.

I baked them at 400 for 15 to 20 minutes until the cheese was melted.

pizzafinal

They were absolutely delightful! Satisfied my craving for pizza without falling off the health wagon.

One response

Tell me what you think

