Ch-ch-changes

Here we are again on the eve of a new year. Time for reflections on the past year and looking forward to what will come.

Last year, I made a lot of changes at the start of the year to my diet. I followed Whole Living 28 day action plan and felt awesome afterwards. I had cut out most processed foods. I had also decided to eliminate Diet Coke and more importantly fake sweeteners from my diet. Wow. What a change. But I’m so happy that I did it. They taste so awful and chemically to me now.  I can’t believe I ever drank and ate them. However, as the year progressed, I started to incorporate more and more processed foods back into my diet. I’m not disappointed in myself, because I think moderation is key. I would like to focus on eating as few processed foods as I can in the coming year.

The other big change is that I am going to mostly cut out added sugar to my diet.

sugar

Why mostly? I am going to allow myself to have added sugar once a week. This is a two-fold issue. It is going to help me limit my treats and splurges to things that I really want. No more eating cookies at work just because a co-worker brought them in. I think the hardest part of this is going to be my daily coffee. I know, you are thinking that coffee doesn’t have any sugar. I know it doesn’t, but I really love to add a little cream and sugar to my coffee in the morning. Not much, just a little. I did without it(the cream and sugar) during the detox last year and was fine, but I prefer it. It needs to stop. There is no reason for it. The other part is that it will help to eliminate processed foods from my diet. 99% of processed foods contain added sugar! Yikes, that is an alarming fact. Here’s another: The average American eats between 1/4 to 1/2 pound of sugar a day. That is how much is snuck into processed foods. No wonder there is obesity in America.

jillian

The other part of my new year, new me plan is the work out portion. My knee does not love me running on it anymore. Short distances are ok, but long are not. I’ve tried everything. It’s frustrating. So, I need to find something else to supplement my running to help myself stay fit and in shape. Or actually to get into better shape. One thing that I like doing and that has worked for me in the past is Jillian Michael’s videos. So, for January I am going to work out 5 days a week. 3 of those days are to be the Jillian video. For Christmas I asked for Jillian’s 90 Day Body Revolution which is on its way in the mail to me. I am going to start that Feb 1. Also Feb 1, I am going to redo the Whole Living action plan from last year. I’m waiting until Feb 1st to tackle the big things because I will be gone 10 days in Jan and don’t want to set myself up for failure.

What is everyone else planning to do to make 2013 their best year ever?

2 responses

Tell me what you think

