Tips to succeed in healthy eating

It’s day 2 of the new year! How is everyone doing on their resolutions?

I had a very successful day yesterday. After having a few drinks on New Years Eve, I wanted to eat crap yesterday. Even if I only have one drink, I always want to eat crap the next day. I hate it. Which is why I have cut back and almost eliminated alcohol from my diet. But I didn’t eat crap yesterday. I knew ahead of time that I would probably want to eat crappy and safe guarded myself against it. How?

Planning.

That is the number one key to being successful in healthy eating. Plan your grocery lists and stick to them. Plan your meals. Plan to have healthy snacks ready. Look at restaurant menus ahead of time and decide on what you will order. Doing this will eliminate the impulsive poor decisions.

I almost always have eggs on hand. They are one of my favorite breakfasts and they are so filling and nutritious. They go great with a side of fruit or veggies. I will eat eggs for almost any meal as my source of protein. Even better…they are inexpensive. And cook very quickly, so they are a fast and easy meal.

health3

The other thing I do is make large batches of things. Eat some. Freeze some. Always have food on hand to eat so you don’t grab fast food or go out to eat. I dedicate a good portion of my weekends to cooking so I have food during the week and have no excuse for making poor choices when I get home late and don’t want to spend much time in the kitchen. I made a big batch of this amazing Moroccan lentil soup that Brian and I can’t stop eating.

health1

I also made two big batches of kale salads. The avocado kale salad and the detox kale salad. I love kale salads because they are packed with nutrients and kale is so hearty that it will last for days in the fridge without wilting. Pre-made salad? Perfect.

health4

Utilize your slow cooker. If you don’t have one, get one! They are great for making big batches of soup and a whole variety of other things, including desserts! Look what I made in my slow cooker while I went out to dinner yesterday.

health5

What are those mysterious bundles of aluminum foil? Sweet potatoes. Cooked in the crock pot. Ready to go so I can just reheat the sweet potato and have a filling and healthy side at any meal this week. Just wash, poke a few holes, wrap them in foil and place in slow cooker. Cook on high for 2.5 to 4 hours depending on size and amount of potatoes in crock pot.

Combat hunger by having healthy snack on hand. I always pack an extra piece of fruit or some carrots to snack on while I’m at work. I also keep a bag of almonds in my desk drawer.

So combat pit falls by planning. Always have something healthy ready to eat to avoid temptations.

Tell me what you think

