Quick and easy veggie burgers

For a while I was on the hunt for the best veggie burger recipe. I don’t know when or why I stopped making my own patties. I must have gotten tired or them. Or maybe it was about the time I discovered amazing gluten-free veggie burgers at Costco that weren’t loaded with crap.

Well, last week we didn’t have many groceries but we did have the makings of a homemade veggie burger, so I threw these together. And they turned out surprisingly well. While they aren’t my favorite recipe, they were so easy and fast that I would make them again.

Ingredients:

  • 2 small to medium sweet potatoes
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats(not instant, preferably gluten-free)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds(or nut of choice)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350F.

Poke holes with fork in sweet potatoes and microwave 5-6 minutes or until soft.

Saute diced onion in a little oil until glassy.

Once cool enough to handle, cut sweet potato into 1′ chunks and place in bowl with black beans. Mash black beans and sweet potato together until combined, but not smooth. I like it left a little chunky, this will also help the patties stay together.

vburg1

vburg7

Mix in onion, oats, egg, seeds and seasonings until combined.

vburg6

vburg2

Form into 6 large or 8 medium patties. Place on non-stick aluminum foil. Make the patties fairly thin. This will help them cook best. Mine were a little more wet that I wanted them, but they still held together in patty form, so I continued on.

vburg5

Bake for about 15 minutes. Once starting to brown on the bottom side, carefully flip over and continue making about 20 minutes on other side.

vburg4

I like mine a little crunchier on the outside, so you may want to cook slightly less.

vburg3

These actually held together very well and have great flavor. Only one broke apart when I was flipping it, so I crumbled it up a little more and ate it on a salad with avocado. Yum!

vburglast

The total cost for making 6 veggie burgers? Less than $2! Bargain burger!

Tell me what you think

