Curry fries

I make sweet potato fries at home as a side for a lot. It cures my hankering for fries and it healthier than eating them out because they are baked, not fried.

I usually just salt and pepper them. Occasionally I will sprinkle a little cayenne pepper on there for spice. This weekend I decided to switch it up and use curry powder, which added a nice flavor without being overpowering.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, scrubbed and cut into fries
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil(or olive oil)
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder

Preheat oven to 400F.

Cut the potatoes into fries. Make them as uniform as possible.

pot1

Toss with coconut oil and curry powder.

Spread as evenly as you can in a single lay on a baking sheet. Or if you own a french fry plan(like I do), use that. While you don’t need one, they are great for roasting vegetables. The holes on the bottom allows the air to circulate better and helps the food cook better.

pot2

Bake for about 10-12 minutes. Uses a spatula to flip the fries the best you can to the other side for even cooking. Trying to make sure that they stay in a single layer

Continue baking for another 15-20 minutes. I like mine to be darker and crispier. This batch was a little underdone for me. I would have liked another 5-7 minutes in the oven for more brown spots, but the rest of lunch had already been done cooking for a little bit. Cold food and hot fries or all hot food? I chose all hot food.

pot3

How do you make fries at home? What seasoning do you use?

One response

Tell me what you think

