A healthier enchilada

I have professed my love for Mexican food several times over. One thing I rarely order or make is enchiladas. Mostly because they aren’t that healthy. And they have such little nutritional value.

So I decided to cook them up at home to try to make them a little healthier. There is the never-ending battle between the flour and corn tortilla in our house. Brian likes the flour, I like the corn. I am still trying to limit my gluten intake and corn have way fewer calories than flour. So this is a tale of two different plates of enchiladas.

So start by making the enchilada filling. And preheat your oven to 350F.

I added about a half tablespoon of olive oil to a large skillet on medium to medium-high heat. Once hot, I sautéed one small onion(diced) until it starts to soften and turn glassy. Then I added in a pound of 93% lean ground beef and a packet of fajita seasoning(or seasoning of choice). When that is almost cooked through I stirred in 1 diced zucchini and one can of drained and rinsed black beans. Cook until heated through. Then add in a few handfuls of spinach. Stir until just starting to wilt.

ench7

Now you have a very tasty and nutritious filling. From here, you can use it to top a salad, make a taco or make enchiladas.

In the bottom of an 8×8 pan, pour a little enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan ans spread it around. I used flour tortillas for Brian. I put 3 big spoonfuls of enchilada filling in the center or a tortilla then rolled it up and placed it in the pan.

ench1

I continued to do that until they were neatly rolled and tightly packed. Then I took pre-made enchilada sauce and generously poured it over the rolled enchiladas. Top with cheese.

ench8

Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly. Serve.

I wanted a lower calorie meal. So I took a mini loaf pan and placed a corn tortilla at the bottom of it. Then I topped it with a good amount of filling, a healthy pour of enchilada sauce and cheese. I placed this in the oven next to the bigger pan for about 20 minutes.

ench9

ench3

For a nice healthy side I made one avocado worth of guacamole and split it between the two of us. A perfect compliment to the hot and filling enchiladas.

ench4

Which was a perfect meal to eat last week during the snow storm.

ench5

The leftovers are amazing, too. I sauteed up some more onion and an orange bell pepper and topped with some more of the filler and enchilada sauce. So tasty!

ench6

Reinventing leftovers is great! How do you reinvent your leftovers so you don’t get bored?

Tell me what you think

