Beet burgers and rosemary potatoes

beet2

After getting into roasting beets from the farmer’s market a few summers ago, I decided that I liked beets. Since then, I have had a hot and cold relationship with beets. During one of those hot streaks, I bought 2 cans of them from the grocery store. I have no idea what I was thinking. So, they’ve been in the pantry for months now and I decided that they needed to get used up.

Fortunately, Neverhomemaker posted a beet burger recipe. I substituted fresh beets for canned beets and black beans for white beans and the burgers turned out delicious!

Dare I say that it might be my new favorite veggie burger recipe? Well, it might. It holds together better than most veggie burger recipes that I’ve made and the burger was nice and crispy on the outside and flavorful on the inside. Topped with goat cheese and it was to die for!

beet1 beet3

On the side I made some rosemary roasted red potatoes. Say that 10 times fast! Whoa, tongue twister.

These potatoes were better than usual. I tried out Gwyneth Paltrow’s method of no-fry fries, but used red potatoes, cubed them and added rosemary. Soaking them in cold water made a huge difference. They tasted much crispier and more delicious than roasted potatoes I’ve had before. I’m sold on adding in the extra step!

beet4

So, there you go. A healthier burger and fries that you can make at home.

Tell me what you think

