Italian eggs

I have had eggs made like this at least once a weekend for the past 6 weekends. And for a few quick weeknight dinners. I am absolutely obsessed.

The idea came to be because I needed to use up some cherry tomatoes and spinach. Then I ate them, fell in love and couldn’t stop making them. They have evolved a bit over time, but mostly due to ingredients on hand.

I start by frying one or two eggs in a skillet. Try to keep the eggs on one half of the pan. Sprinkle them generously with salt, pepper and Italian seasonings.  Put a big handful of spinach in the empty half of the pan(and cherry/grape tomatoes, sliced in half, if you have them). Top the spinach with a few spoonfuls of marinara. stir a bit until the spinach wilts. OR, you can scramble the eggs and cook the spinach and tomatoes in with them. So many possibilities.

While you are doing this, toast a piece of bread(I prefer sprouted grain).

Top your toast with spinach/marinara then eggs.

IE2 IE3

Or vice versa. I have done it both ways and it is equally delicious.

IE1

Devour.

IE4

Tell me what you think

