Banana, peanut butter and flax waffles

waffle9

I got a much wanted waffle maker a few months ago. Honestly, I was a little intimidated about making waffles once I started researching recipes. Use yeast, don’t use yeast, fold in the whipped egg whites, it doesn’t matter. So many decisions, so many opinions.

I put off making waffles for about a month after getting the waffle maker. I couldn’t decide on a recipe. Then {never}homemaker posted a peanut butter and banana waffle recipe. It looked simple enough and if it was a flop, then my next attempts could only go better, right?

This recipe makes a healthier waffle than you would get at a restaurant. Brian and I both really liked it and made enough to have leftovers throughout the week. Brian likes his leftover waffles cold. I like to reheat mine in the toaster to give them a crispy exterior. Both of us eat the leftovers dry. I think the leftovers were even more flavorful than the fresh made.

I ran out of flour, so I substituted some oats in the mix and also threw in some cinnamon.

Dry ingredients:

waffle1

Wet ingredients:

waffle2

The wet and dry becoming friends:

waffle3

A nice thick mixture:

waffle4

Becoming a waffle:

waffle6

Extras cooling on a drying rack so they don’t become soggy and mushy and can be frozen to eat later:

waffle5

Mine with a little maple syrup and some 5-minute brownie crumbled on top. I regretted the syrup. Made it too sweet.

waffle7 waffle8

Brian’s with a few chocolate chips on top:

waffle10

These are so delicious. I can’t wait to make them again.

Tell me what you think

