Easy teriyaki and pineapple chicken with rice

t4

This was a super simple recipe that I threw together in almost no time. I had bought a package of chicken breasts for another recipe and had one giant breast left over. Seeing that I also had some pineapple in the fridge, I knew exactly what I wanted to make. Teriyaki chicken.

I love teriyaki chicken. Or teriyaki pork. Or teriyaki turkey burgers. I think I like it because it’s sweet, tangy and a little salty.

I started by marinating the chicken in some kikoman’s teriyaki sauce in the pantry. I’m not a big fan of this sauce and think it lacks flavor, so I added some honey, garlic, cilantro, and pineapple juice. If you find a teriyaki sauce that you like, you don’t need to do that.

Marinate the chicken for 30 minutes to a few hours.

Heat up a skillet to medium heat. Place chicken in skillet once heated and add a few pieces of pineapple around the edges. Feel free to sprinkle the chicken with some sesame seeds if you’d like, too.

t1

While you are doing this, either cook up some brown rice or reheat any left over brown rice you have(this is what I did). Mix the brown rice with pieces of pineapple, a little pineapple juice if you have it and some chopped cilantro.

t3

Turn chicken over and cook on the other side until cooked through. Turn pieces of pineapple as necessary so they don’t burn but brown nicely on most sides.

t2

Slice chicken and serve over rice.

t5

Simple, delicious and flavorful.

Tell me what you think

