Raisin Bran muffins

I was at the store recently and had an impulse purchase of a box of Raisin Bran.

Raisin Bran is one of the few cereals I like. I also like to knit, garden and go to water aerobics. I am a 85-year-old woman.

Being that 1-2 bowls of cereal every few months if about my limit, I needed to find something else to do with the rest of the box of cereal. With a quick Google search, I quickly learned that there are numerous Raisin Bran muffin recipes out there. Apparently, they are a thing. Well, I don’t want to be left behind on the cereal muffin trend, so I made cereal muffins.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups Raisin Bran cereal
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a large bowl, which together the flour, baking soda, salt and sugars.

RB1 photo 2

Stir in the cereal. Set aside.

RB3 RB4

In a medium bowl, whisk together the oil, egg, buttermilk and vanilla.

RB5

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry. Stir until completely combined.

RB6 RB7

Cover mixture and refrigerate for 45 minute to 2 days. This allows the cereal to soften. Part of the reason I chose this recipe was the ability to let the batter rest before using it. My oven was full of DIY Greek yogurt, so I couldn’t bake them up right away. See how the batter is soupy before letting it sit, then much thicker afterwards?

RB8

When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 375F. Use a muffin tin with liners or lightly grease a muffin tin. Divide batter between 12 muffins.

RB9

Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Store in an airtight container or refrigerate.

I really liked these muffins because they had nice flavor without being too sweet. The only change I might make is adding additional raisins to the recipe.

Tell me what you think

