Prime rib roast

Do you know what is a month from today? Valentine’s Day. Yes, that’s right. It’s sneaking up on you again this year. What are you going to do? Well, I’ve given you enough heads up to make reservations at a good restaurant, but I suggest you do something homemade. A special meal. Do I have any suggestions? Why yes, I do.

For a change of pace this year for Christmas, I decided to make a prime rib roast. Wow, what a great way to end the year or  what a great way to celebrate Valentine’s Day. Let me let you in on a little secret, it’s super easy. Go ahead, impress your loved one.

Important: Take your roast out of the refrigerator 1 1/2 to 2 hours before you want to cook it to bring it to room temperature.

Ingredients:

  • 3 pound prime rib roast
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • fresh ground pepper(I probably used 2-3 teaspoons)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Preheat the oven to 450F.

Place prime rib into a roasting pan and thoroughly rub roast with salt, pepper and garlic until covered. Place prime rib into oven. After 20 minutes turn the temperature down to 350F. Cook for 40-55 minutes more, depending on how done you would like your meat. When you meat is cooked to your liking, actually a little more rare than how you like it, because it will continue to cook a little after you pull it out. But, when you do pull it out of the oven, immediately cover it with aluminum foil and let it rest for 20 minutes. If you cut it before 20 minutes all the juices in the meat will flow out.

It is delicious served with mashed cauliflower and Brussels sprouts.

Ok, the meat looks really rare in that picture. I promise it wasn’t that rare in real life.

5 responses

  1. We had a rib roast for Christmas dinner here. I got a 3.5 kilo (3 rib) rib on the bone. I did plenty of Yorkshire pudding to go with it. Mine would have been as rare as yours looks. It was fantastic.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. Pingback: Prime rib roast sandwich with honey goat cheese |

Tell me what you think