Grass-fed meatballs

There is something amazing about meatball sandwiches. So amazing.

Here’s the thing. I’ve never made meatballs before(I made taco meatballs, but they don’t count). I grew up not liking meatballs. So, as an adult, I would occasionally get a meatball sandwich at a deli or buy pre-made meatballs at the store and cook them for a meatball sandwich at home. But that’s all fake.

So, I decided to put my big girl pants on and make meatballs. Who knew they were so easy(recipe adapted)? What was I afraid of all this time?

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 pounds grass-fed ground beef
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 2 teaspoons A1 steak sauce
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 425F.

Put all ingredients into a big bowl and combine with hands until just mixed. The original recipe did not call for onion, but I added it in as I didn’t want the grass-fed beef to get dry.

Roll into golf ball sized balls. Place on a baking sheet.

Bake 10-12 minutes until no longer pink.

Eat plain, on top of spaghetti, or in a sandwich or wrap.

I made a sandwich for Brian and brown rice tortilla wrap for me. Unfortunately, we only had a loaf of bread at home, so Brian’s wasn’t on a giant hunk of crusty bread that would be so good. I did add a little earth balance, garlic bread sprinkle, and soy mozzarella and Parmesan cheese to the bread and tortilla first and broiled for a few minutes to up the delicious factor.

2 responses

Tell me what you think